Contact us

Home.Information.Departments & Subjects.News.Parent Area.Pupil Area.

Banchory Academy

From understanding comes strength

Expressive Arts


Mr Andrew Bruce

Mrs Louise Meston


Instrumental Instructors

Mr Blair Cargill - Piano

Mrs Christine Cheyne -  Woodwind

Mr Andrew Johnson -  Guitar

Caroline Jones - Double Bass

Mrs Morag Kelly -  Percussion

Mrs Janet Leadbetter -  Cello

Mrs Tracey Webster -  Violin

Mr Hamish Wood -  Brass





Mr Andrew Bruce - Faculty Head


Art & Design

Mrs Shelia Angus

Mrs Kim Duncan

Miss Alison Reid

Mrs Anne-Marie Trudgill





Ms Margaret Bryce

Miss Darrell Davidson



Banchory Rotary Club held its annual Young Musician of the Year competition on Thursday 31st January. The new venue at Banchory Christian Fellowship Church was excellent. The standard of playing for the fifteen pupils who took part was as high as ever and the Judges had an unenviable task of declaring the winners. In the Vocal category Melissa Drysdale came first and Amber Massie came second. Laura Smith won the instrumental section and Imogen Leadbetter came second. They are now eligible to take part in the next round of the competition. Huge congratulations go to all the participants who provided a wonderful evening’s entertainment for the audience of two hundred who gathered to enjoy some of Banchory’s best!


Young Musician of the Year

Some of the S1 pupils in the Art and Department entered the annual Edinburgh Fringe Festival poster competition this year with great success.

Helena Grieve’s (1M2) poster has been chosen as the regional winner for Aberdeenshire. (shown here)

Both Hannah Griffiths (1M2) and Zoe Barton (1L1) have had their designs shortlisted for the exhibition which runs from 24th May to 26th August at the Museum of Childhood on Edinburgh’s Royal Mile. There were over 5000 entries this year so very well done to all 3 girls!!


Fringe Festival Poster Competition